NASA members and Board of Governors approve terms of settlement

The Non-Academic Staff Association is pleased to announce the results of the ratification vote on the terms of settlement recommended by the mediator.

NASA members voted overwhelmingly to accept the settlement terms, with 94% voting yes to approve the agreement. Voter turnout was 50.4% of eligible voters.

Yes: 1,696 (94%)
No: 100 (6%)

Total votes cast: 1,806 
Eligible voters: 3,584

Note: there were 10 spoiled ballots on which the voter declined to vote.

The University of Alberta Board of Governors has also confirmed ratification of the mediator's recommendations. With both parties having ratified the terms of settlement, this round of bargaining is concluded and the new collective agreement will be in place until March 31, 2024.

We’d like to offer our sincere thanks to NASA Chief Spokesperson Nancy Furlong and the entire NASA bargaining team—Kathy Collins, Jillian Pratt, Markian Hlynka, Kim Koch, and Trent Nabe—for their many months of hard work in negotiating this agreement. 

We’d also like to thank all the NASA members who voted, attended information sessions, provided feedback, took part in developing our bargaining priorities, talked to their co-workers, and stayed engaged throughout this extended and challenging bargaining process.